Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
To get certified for the shooting range, please contact Brandie Bray at (319) 657-2400 for an appointment.
To make a reservation for any of our rental facilities, please contact the Center at 319-657-2400 or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org
Iowa Code Section 724 lists requirements to obtain a permit to carry weapons. Those requirements are as follows: 1) Completion of any handgun safety training available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the NRA or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA). Certificate of completion MUST indicate that training was complete for handgun or pistol. This training must be no more than 24 months prior to application if the applicant has not held a valid Iowa permit to carry issued after July 1, 2011. 2) Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States of America as evidenced by any of the following: A. For personnel released or retired from active duty, possession of an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions. This can also be shown with a Form DD-214. B. For personnel on active duty or serving in one of the National Guard or Reserve components of the armed forces of the United States of America, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification. 3) Completion of a law enforcement agency firearms training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer's duties. Permit to Carry Applications, along with payment for permit may be dropped off at the Washington County Sheriff's Office, Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. except on holidays. Make sure to include a valid mailing address as all permit holders issued permits after January 1, 2018 will have a State Issued card mailed to them at the mailing address provided on the application between 10-14 days after the application is processed.
Costs for the permit to carry are as follows, as set by Iowa Code section 724: 1) New permits are $50.00 2) Renewal Permits are $25.00 3) Corrections Officers permits are available at no cost (with proof of employment). 4) Duplicate permits are $25.00 and will keep the same issue and expiration dates. 5) State issued plastic cards will be issued at no extra cost to permit holders issued carry permits after July 1, 2017. Forms of payment accepted by the Washington County Sheriff's Office are cash, personal check, or money order; we do not accept debit or credit cards.
Renewal requirements as spelled out in Iowa Code Section 724 are as follows: Application must be made no more than 30 days prior to and no more than 30 days after date of expiration of valid permit to carry issued in Washington County, Iowa.
The Sheriff's Office has an application that must be completed and signed. The applicant must have photo identification when the application is returned for processing. There is a $25 fee and the permit is valid for 5 years after date of issue. Completed applications may be dropped off, along with $25.00, at the Washington County Sheriff's Office, Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., except holidays. Beginning January 1, 2018, a State issued plastic card will be mailed to the address provided on the application, directly from the State 10-14 days (maybe sooner) after the application is processed.
Visit the WENS website and click Unsubscribe at the bottom of the page and follow the instructions. WENS Website